The G-77 Conference (New date to be communicated once confirmed)

Uganda is to host this year’s general conference of the Group of 77 Chambers of Commerce and Industry (G77CCI) to be held in Kampala in April 2020, with the participation of delegations from the 132 member nations of G-77.

The South Summit is the supreme decision-making body of the Group of 77. The First and the Second South Summit were held in Havana, Cuba, on 10 – 14 April 2000 and in Doha, Qatar, on 12 – 16 June 2005, respectively. In accordance with the principle of geographical rotation, the Third South Summit is due to be held in Uganda.


About G77

The Group of 77 (G77) at the United Nations is a coalition of 135 developing countries, designed to promote its members’ collective economic interests and create an enhanced joint negotiating capacity in the United Nations. There were 77 founding members of the organization, but by November 2019 the organization had since expanded to 135 member countries (including China). Since China participates in the G77 but does not consider itself to be a member, all official statements are issued in the name of The Group of 77 and China.

The Group of 77 is the largest intergovernmental organization of developing countries in the United Nations, which provides the means for the countries of the south to articulate and promote their collective economic interests and enhance their joint negotiating capacity on all major international economic issues within the United Nations system.

Write a Reply or Comment